The paper is published!

At long last, we are thrilled to share the fait accompli: the peer-reviewed research paper. We are so grateful to the folks at Journal of Radical Librarianship, specifically Stephen Bales and Stuart Lawson for walking us through the publication process. Steve’s eagle eye for detail in the copy editing stage was aces. Appreciation also goes to Eamon Towell and Jennifer Soutter for their careful and constructive peer review. Open peer review is under-rated – you don’t get to personally thank your reviewers in blind review.

Without further adieu, here it is, in all its published glory!

SCHMIDT, Jane; HALE, Jordan. Little Free Libraries®. Journal of Radical Librarianship, [S.l.], v. 3, p. 14-41, apr. 2017. ISSN 2399-956X. Available at: https://journal.radicallibrarianship.org/index.php/journal/article/view/17

Tell us what you think in the comments below, or on Twitter. We’re @janeschmidt and @jordanclaire.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “The paper is published!

  1. Julia Siwierka says:

    Hi there! I was not sure how to get in contact with both of the authors from the article, so I was happy to have stumbled upon this blog to hopefully connect electronically!

    I am a doctoral candidate in Community Psychology, and for my class research, I have been studying the local media stories surrounding LFLs, similar to Webster et al. (although my sample size is quite smaller!). I am actually giving a presentation/facilitating a discussion with my university’s library staff tomorrow about my research and this article in hopes to gain further insights about these little structures from librarians locally (did not know one needed permission to use the name, oops!). I appreciated the theoretical lens you used in this article– it’s about time some of the challenges or negative aspects of these structures was written about! Not one article I found and analyzed mentioned the $40 registration fee, and only about half of the articles mentioned the price for pre-made structures for purchase on their website. And still, none of these articles mentioned the price (starting at $150!) to be a challenge for potential stewards. There is a lot to be said about these “libraries,” and given my interest in access to reading materials for my dissertation research, these structures certainly have a potential spot in the research in the future. Interestingly, my town just named April “Little Free Library Month” (oops), so I expect to see more stories in the future. Although I wonder how often the negative aspects will be noted…

    I just wanted to drop by and say thank you for doing this important research. I look forward to reading more about your project as the months progress!

    Like

    • Hi Julia! Thanks for reaching out! Your approach sounds very interesting. I would love to read what you produce. You can find my email on the website of my employer, Ryerson Library, if you want to stay in touch that way. I’m also on Twitter – @janeschmidt. Best, Jane

      Like

Leave a Reply

